Knowledged Based Bioeconomy is one of the most successful and fast growing areas in Europe

The European Union performs a Europe 2020 strategy for "Innovating for sustainable growth: A Bioeconomy for Europe". The Europe 2020 Strategy calls for a bioeconomy as a key element for smart and green growth in Europe. Advancements in bioeconomy research and innovation uptake will allow Europe to improve the management of its renewable biological resources and to open new and diversified markets in food and bio-based products. The goals of the strategy contribute significantly to the objectives of the Europe 2020 flagship initiatives "Innovation Union" and "A Resource Efficient Europe".

The Bioeconomy Strategy and its Action Plan aim to pave the way to a more innovative, resource efficient and competitive society that reconciles food security with the sustainable use of renewable resources for industrial purposes, while ensuring environmental protection. They will inform research and innovation agendas in bioeconomy sectors and contribute to a more coherent policy environment, better interrelations between national, EU and global bioeconomy policies and a more engaged public dialogue.

ENSURING FOOD SECURITY

Global population growth by 2050 is estimated to lead to a 70% increase in food demand, which includes a projected twofold increase in world meat consumption. The Bioeconomy Strategy will contribute to a global approach in meeting this challenge by developing the knowledge-base for a sustainable increase in primary production, taking into account all options from cutting-edge science to local and tacit knowledge. It will also encourage changes in production and consumption patterns and the development of healthier and more sustainable diets. The EU food manufacturing sector and households alone waste about 90 million tonnes of food annually or 180 kg per person, not taking into account losses in agriculture and fisheries. The Strategy will support more resource-efficient food supply chains in line with the Roadmap to a Resource Efficient Europe and the Blue Growth Initiative.

MANAGING NATURAL RESOURCES SUSTAINABLY

Agriculture, forestry, fisheries and aquaculture require several essential and limited resources to produce biomass. These include land, sea space, fertile and functioning soils, water and healthy ecosystems, but also resources such as minerals and energy for the production of fertilisers. Their use also involves significant opportunity costs linked to the depletion or loss of ecosystem services. As competing uses of biomass and the legacy of past exploitation place these resources under severe pressure, the EU needs to produce "more with less" and develop smart sustainable farming, fisheries and aquaculture.

Next page

Die wissensbasierende Bioökonomie ist eine der erfolgreichsten und schnell wachsenden Bereiche in Europa

Die Europäische Union führt eine Strategie mit dem Namen Europa 2020 für "Innovationen für ein nachhaltiges Wachstum: Eine Bioökonomie für Europa" ("Innovating for sustainable growth: A Bioeconomy for Europe"). Diese Strategie fordert eine Bioökonomie als zentrales Element für ein intelligentes und grünes Wachstum in Europa. Fortschritte sowie Forschung und Innovation in der Bioökonomie erlauben es Europa, die Verwaltung ihrer erneuerbaren Ressourcen zu verbessern und neue und diversifizierte Märkte für Lebensmittel und biologisch basierenden Produkten zu öffnen. Die Ziele der Strategie zählen zu den wesentlichen der Europa 2020 Leitinitiativen "Innovation Union" und "Ein ressourcenschonendes Europa".

Die Bioökonomie Strategie und ihr Maßnahmenplan soll den Weg zu einer innovativen, ressourcenschonenden und wettbwerbsfähigen Gesellschaft ebnen. Eine Gesellschaft, die die Sicherstellung von Nahrung und den nachhaltigen Verbrauch von erneuerbaren Ressourcen für industrielle Zwecke gewährleistet und gleichzeitig den Umweltschutz nicht aus den Augen verliert.

DIE GEWÄHRLEISTUNG VON ERNÄHRUNGSSICHERHEIT

Das Wachstum der Weltbevölkerung von schätzungsweise 70% bis zum Jahre 2050 bringt eine höhere Nachfrage an Lebensmitteln einher. Der weltweite Fleischkonsum wird sich dadurch verdoppeln. Die Bioökonomie Strategie soll ein globaler Ansatz zur Bewältigung dieser Herausforderung sein. Die Entwicklung des Grundlagenwissen für eine nachhaltige Steigerung der Primärproduktion unter Berücksichtigung aller Optionen der modernsten Wissenschaft, soll zu einem lokalen und impliziten Wissen beitragen. Es wird auch zu einer Veränderung der Produktions- und Konsummuster führen und die Entwicklung zu einer nachhaltigeren und gesünderen Ernährung fördern. Die Lebensmittelverarbeitenden Gewerbe und Haushalte in der EU verschwenden etwas 90 Millionen Tonnen an Lebensmittel. Umgerechnet sind das jährlich 180 kg pro Person, ohne die Verluste in der Landwirtschaft und Fischerei eingerechnet zu haben. Ein ressourcenschonendes Europa und die "Blue Growth Initiative" sollen durch diese Strategie unterstützt werden.

DER NACHHALTIGE UMGANG MIT NATÜRLICHEN RESSOURCEN

Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Fischerei und Aquakultur brauchen etliche unverzichtbare und begrenzte Ressourcen, um Biomasse zu produzieren. Dazu gehören Land, Meer, fruchtbare und funktionstüchtige Böden, Wasser und gesunde Ökosysteme, sowie Ressourcenn wie Mineralien und Energie für die Herstellung von Düngemitteln. Ihr Einsatz beinhaltet jedoch auch erhebliche Opportunitätskosten im Zusammenhang mit dem Abbau oder sogar dem Verlust von Ökosystemleistungen. Im Bezug auf die konkurrierende Nutzung von Biomasse und dem Erbe der Vergangenheit steht die EU unter starkem Druck, "mehr durch weniger" zu produzieren und intelligente und nachhaltige Landwirtschaft, Fischerei und Aquakultur zu entwickeln.

Next page