Agriculture and Fisheries

European agriculture and forestry must deal with dwindling natural resources, the effects of climate change, the changing global demographic and the need to provide a sustainable, safe and secure food supply for its citizens . The goal is to provide agriculture and forestry with the required knowledge and tools to support productive, resource-efficient and resilient systems that supply food, feed and other biobased raw-materials without compromising ecosystem services, while supporting the development of incentives and policies for thriving rural livelihoods.

It addresses the pressures on natural resources, such as the decline in fossil fuels, depletion of fish stocks, as well as combating climate change through reducing greenhouse gas emissions and the adaptation of the agricultural sector accordingly. Another global challenge is animal health and the control of infectious diseases and zoonoses (infectious diseases that can be transmitted from animals to humans). Furthermore, research into plant health, and sustainable, competitive, multifunctional agriculture and rural development, including forestry, provides support for a number of EU policies.

Many challenges currently face the European fisheries and aquaculture sectors: a large number of Community fish stocks are overexploited and aquaculture production is stagnating in Europe while world production is increasing, especially in Asia. To tackle these issues, the EU is supporting research in a variety of areas to underpin better fisheries management and promote the sustainable and competitive development of aquaculture.

Land use in Europe

In 2008 the total land cover of EU 27 was around 420 million hectares with approximately 43% dedicated to agricultural production and 40% to forestry. Concerning non-food production only 5% was dedicated to industrial usage (mostly biofuel oilseed) while another 5% was potentially available as unutilised land. Economically the use of this arable and pasture land for the combined agricultural and food sector accounts for 17 million jobs (7,6% of total employment) and for 3,5% of total Gross Value Added in the EU-27. In addition world food demand is expected to increase by 70% by 2050 (FAO). A dramatic increase in global food demand will go together with a steep increase in the demand for feed, fibre, biomass, and biomaterial. This will and must trigger a supply reaction of EU agriculture, being one of the biggest suppliers to global agricultural markets. EU agriculture has a share of 18% in world food exports, worth € 76 billion. In production values, EU agriculture provides more than 40% of total OECD food production.

Next page

Agrarwirtschaft und Fischerei

Die Europäische Agrar- und Forstwirtschaft muss mit schwindenden natürlichen Ressourcen, den Effekten der Klimaerwärmung, dem Wandel der Weltbevölkerung und der Notwedigkeit der Sicherstellung des Nahrungsangebots für ihre Bevölkerung sorgen. Das Ziel ist, mit dem notwendigen Wissen und Werkzeug die Agrar- und Forstwirtschaft zu unterstützen, um Nahrung, Futtermittel und andere biologisch basierende Rohmaterialien sicherzustellen, ohne das Ökosystem zu beeinflussen.

Es befasst sich mit dem Druck auf die natürlichen Ressourcen, wie der Rückgang der fossilen Energieträger, die Überfischung und die Bekämpfung des Klimawandels durch die Reduzierung des Ausstoßes der Teibhausgase. Eine andere globale Herausforderung ist die Gesundheit der Tiere und die Kontrolle der infektiösen Erkrankungen und Zoonosen (Infektionsträger, die Krankheiten von Tieren auf Menschen übertragen können). Die Forschung im Bereich der Gesudheit der Pflanzen, einer nachhaltigen, wettbewerbsfähigen und multifunktionalen Agrarwirtschaft sowie die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raumes inklusive Forstwirtschaft, stellen wichtige Themen für die EU dar.

Viele Herausforderungen betreffen vorrangig die Sektoren der Fischerei und Aquakutltur. Viele kommerzielle Fischarten sind überfischt und die Aquuakutur in Europa stagniert ebenfalls, während die weltweite Produktion wächst - im Besonderen in Asien. Um diese Probleme angehen zu können, fördert die EU Forschungen in verschiedenen Bereichen, um eine bessere Bestandbewirschaftung in der Fischerei zu untersützen und zu fördern. Eine dauerhaft durchhaltbare und wettbewerbsfähige Entwicklung in der Aquakultur soll erreicht werden.

Raumnutzung in Europa

2008 betrug die Landoberfläche aller 27 EU Staaten ca 420 ha. Etwa 43% wurden für die landwirtschaftliche Produktion und 40% für die Forstwirtschaft genutzt. 5% wurden von der industriellen Produktion eingenommen (meistens Biobrennstoff), während die restlichen 5% ungenutzt blieben. Wirtschaftlich gesehen könnte dieses landwirtschaftlich nutzbare Gras- und Ackerland für 17 Millionen Arbeitsplätze stehen (7,6% aller Erwerbstätigen) und 3,5% der gesamten Bruttowertschöpfung der EU 27 ergeben. Darüber hinaus wird die weltweite Nachfrage nach Nahrungsmittel bis zum Jahre 2050 um 70% steigen (FAO). Eine dramatische Nachfrage in diesem Belangen wird mit einer steigenden Nachfrage nach Futtermittel, Ballaststoffen, Biomasse und Biomaterial hervorrufen. Dieser Umstand wird und muss eine Reaktion der EU auslösen, da sie eine der größten Lieferanten am weltweiten Agrarmarkt ist. Die EU haltet mit 18% (das sind € 76 Billionen) einen großen Teil des weltweiten Nahrungsmittelexportes. Das ist ein Produktionswert von mehr als 40% der gesamten Nahrungsmittelproduktion in der OECD.